Open Waters competition in Riviera Nayarit breaks records

•    Over 570 swimmers from all over Mexico participated; some winners also broke competition records

An exciting swimming competition was held last April 27th  in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, where over 570 swimmers from all over Mexico participated in Aguas Abiertas Riviera Nayarit 2013 breaking previous participation records and even the pre-estimated registration limit.

Newts from all categories will join this competition, which tested their resistance. Children 7 to 20 made a 500 m lap; ages 11 and 12 swam 1.250 km.; ages 13 and 14 raced 2.5 km, and amateurs 15 and older completed  3.75 km.

The main competition was a 5k race for professionals won by Ivan Lopez, registering 00:56:10 and breaking last competition récord byAlan Rojas Sagrero, registering 01:01:33 in Men’s Competition where all of the first 5 arrivals where under one hour; and Lizeth Rueda Santos in Women´s, who completed the race in  01:03:26, just 9 hundreth of a second above 2012 record by Lizeth Rueda.

The Convention and Visitors Bureau (CVB) of Riviera Nayarit congratulates Nadoseguro for contributing to promote his tourist destination through sport events that get the attention of competitors, their families, and of the media.

Riviera Nayarit is a privileged destination not only because of its beaches, which extend over 180 miles, but also because of its natural environment, which makes it one of the preferred destinations for sport fishing enthusiasts. Its world-class infrastructure, and its readily available services allow visitors to enjoy magical experiences and fun family vacations.

The Convention and Visitors Bureau of Riviera Nayarit has defined the events and conventions segment as a priority within the framework of promotion for our destination, as it realizes that these contribute directly to selling hotel nights and in accomplishing the objectives defined by the State Government headed by Roberto Sandoval, in order to attract tourism to benefit the people of Nayarit.


These are the official results for the professionals

Pos        Name                                                                Official Time                  
1     223     IVÁN     LÓPEZ                         00:56:10    
2     539     RODRIGO ELORZA VAZQUEZ                 00:56:20    
3     534     CHRISTIAN RAMOS RAMIREZ                 00:59:03    
4     306     MANUEL CHIU                         00:59:04
5     533     DIEGO ALFREDO PEREZ FLORES             00:59:08

Pos        Name                                                                            Official Time                  
1    532     CECILIA PEREZ FLORES                                          01:03:35        
2     515     MARÍA ANDREA     PEREZ                                      01:04:38    
3     531     ANDREA BERENICE GUTIERREZ GONZALEZ     01:04:54    
4     530     VANESA     DE LA TORRE FLORES                        01:05:46    
5     86     ANA     RODAL                                                            01:08:45

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *