Open Waters competition in Riviera Nayarit breaks records

•    Over 420 swimmers from 47 teams all over Mexico participated; winners also broke competition records

An exciting swimming competition was held last April 21st in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, where over 420 swimmers from 47 teams all over Mexico participated in Aguas Abiertas Riviera Nayarit 2012.

Newts from all categories will join this competition, which tested their resistance. Children 7 to 20 made a 500 m lap; ages 11 and 12 swam 1.250 km.; ages 13 and 14 raced 2.5 km, and amateurs 15 and older completed  3.75 km.

The main competition was a 5k race for professionals won by Alan Rojas Sagrero, registering 01:01:33 in Men’s Competition;and Lizeth Rueda Santos in Women´s, who completed the race in  01:03:26 Both of them breaking this competitions record.

In 2011, two competitors from Guadalajara won this race: Manuel Chiu, with a time of 1:04:28, and Andrea Gutiérrez, who finished in 1:12:13. Both of them got better times but didn´t make it for the first place again. Chiu registered 01:02:28 for the fourth place this year, while Andrea made it for the third place timing 01:09:31.

The Convention and Visitors Bureau (CVB) of Riviera Nayarit congratulates Nadoseguro for contributing to promote his tourist destination through sport events that get the attention of competitors, their families, and of the media.

Riviera Nayarit is a privileged destination not only because of its beaches, which extend over 180 miles, but also because of its natural environment, which makes it one of the preferred destinations for sport fishing enthusiasts. Its world-class infrastructure, and its readily available services allow visitors to enjoy magical experiences and fun family vacations.

The Convention and Visitors Bureau of Riviera Nayarit has defined the events and conventions segment as a priority within the framework of promotion for our destination, as it realizes that these contribute directly to selling hotel nights and in accomplishing the objectives defined by the State Government headed by Roberto Sandoval, in order to attract tourism to benefit the people of Nayarit.


This are the official results for the professionals

Pos        Name                                                        Official Time                  
1             ALAN ROJAS SAGRERO                                01:01:33                              
2             JOSE EMANUEL ROJAS SAGRERO        01:01:35              
3             ALAN FIERRO                    01:01:43                              
4             MANUEL CHIU                                                     01:02:28              
5             LUIS GERARDO SÁNCHEZ LUNA                   01:05:22

Pos        Name                                                        Official Time                  
1             LIZETH RUEDA SANTOS                                   01:03:26                              
2             MIRNA ROMERO                                               01:06:59                              
3             ANDREA GUTIERREZ                                         01:09:31              
4             JESSICA LAMAS                                                   01:15:37                              
5             KARLA MARIANA HERNÁNDEZ TORRES    01:20:50  

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *